A1GP: Germany wins as Netherlands gambles!

Sun, 1 October 2006, 04:27

Team Germany has won the A1GP feature race today at circuit park Zandvoort in the Netherlands. Niko Hulkenberg drove Team Germany to their first A1GP victory ever.

At the start Team Switzerland stalled and was hit by Team Malasya. Both teams were able to continue but lost a lot of time. After half an hour of racing Team Pakstan spunn in the pitlane, the safety car had to come out. A few teams made a pitstop just before the safety car period. However the rain began to fall and after the dafety car dissapeared everybody, expect Team the United States decided to change to wet weather tyres.

After a few laps in the rain Team Netherlands took the lead at their home ground. Local boy Jeroen Bleekemolen drove the orange car through the rain while the espectators on the stand went crazy.

United States were falling back, however their changes to victory came back as the rain stopped and the track started to dry. With 20 minuts to everybody expect Team Netherlands and of course the United States decided to change back to dry weather tyres.

Team Germany, France and United States came on the track very close. However France went off and had to retire. Team Netherlands started to losing time, more than 7 seconds every lap!

Team United States took the lead but their party was short! Team Germany took the lead and won their first race in A1GP while Australia passed Team Netherlands in the last lap. A pitty for Team Netherlands because they were on the verge to win their second A1GP Grand-Prix race but ended up as fourth!

A1GP Netherlands: feature race
1. Germany
2. USA
3. Australia
4. Netherlands
5. Mexico
6. Italy
7. Great Britain
8. Switzerland
9. China
10. Indonesia
11. New Zealand
12. Brazil
13. Canada
14. Ireland
15. Greece
16. Singapore
17. Malasyia
18. India
19. France
20. Czech Republic
21. Lebanon
22. Pakistan
23. South Africa

Peter Gloudemans

You may also like