Felipe on Pole!

Sat, 20 October 2007, 09:01

Ferrari on Saturday complained to the stewards about an incident involving McLaren’s championship leader Lewis Hamilton in qualifying at Interlagos.

Although the Italian squad has not lodged a formal protest, it is understood that sporting director Stefano Domenicali pointed out to the stewards – and offered to provide team telemetry that supports the claim – that Kimi Raikkonen was held up on a flying lap through the Senna-S as Hamilton emerged from the pit lane late in the session.

The pair were seen discussing the incident after the session, and Ferrari strategist Luca Baldisseri is believed to have told television reporters that Raikkonen lost 3-4 tenths behind the Briton.

In the McLaren garage, meanwhile, a Brazilian FIA observer named Carlos donned a set of headphones as he listened in to any evidence that Fernando Alonso was disadvantaged in his fight with Hamilton for the title.

Spaniard Alonso ultimately qualified fourth, a few tenths off Hamilton’s pace, and blamed having to start the ‘Q3’ phase behind his teammate as the decisive difficulty.

“The main problem was starting behind my teammate as usual,” he told Italian television RAI, then referring to his badly grained ‘super soft’ Bridgestone tyres.

“To pass the finish line with just three seconds to go makes you go too fast on the out lap,” Alonso, 26, added.

Team boss Ron Dennis did not seem disappointed, though, as he assessed Hamilton’s front row berth and next step towards winning the title.

“It’s good, it’s almost all in his hands now,” he told the British broadcaster ITV.

GP Brasil, qualification
1 F. Massa Ferrari 1:11.931
2 L. Hamilton McLaren 1:12.082
3 K. Räikkönen Ferrari 1:12.322
4 F. Alonso McLaren 1:12.356
5 M. Webber Red Bull 1:12.928
6 N. Heidfeld BMW 1:13.081
7 R. Kubica BMW 1:13.129
8 J. Trulli Toyota 1:13.195
9 D. Coulthard Red Bull 1:13.272
10 N. Rosberg Williams 1:13.477
11 R. Barrichello Honda 1:12.932
12 G. Fisichella Renault 1:12.968
13 S. Vettel Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:13.058
14 V. Liuzzi Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:13.251
15 R. Schumacher Toyota 1:13.315
16 J. Button Honda 1:13.469
17 H. Kovalainen Renault 1:14.078
18 T. Sato Super Aguri 1:14.098
19 K. Nakajima Williams 1:14.417
20 A. Davidson Super Aguri 1:14.596
21 A. Sutil Spyker F1 1:15.217
22 S. Yamamoto Spyker F1 1:15.487

You may also like