Hamilton receives Hawthorn trophy

Tue, 22 January 2008, 12:22

Lewis Hamilton has been awarded the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy for being the top British or Commonwealth driver of 2007.

The trophy is named after Mike Hawthorn, who died in a road crash within months of becoming the 1958 world champion.

Previous winners include Nigel Mansell, David Coulthard and Jenson Button.

“(Hamilton’s) performances have given us a great platform on which to raise the profile and develop the sport in this country,” said Motor Sports Association chief executive Colin Hilton.

You may also like