Lapierre makes it double wins for France

Mon, 10 October 2005, 04:21

Nicholas Lapierre took his team and country to another victory this weekend, after winning the sprint race, Lapierre was also on top of the podium at the end of the feature race, for the second A1 Grand Prix round in Germany.

Lapierre commented, “After the start to get away from Brazil and Switzerland, I used the PowerBoost button. The team then did a fantastic job with the pit stop and with a new set of tyres I was able to really push again. I knew Robbie had started from the back of the grid so when he was close behind me I realised he must have been driving very quickly.”

Team Great Britain, and their driver, Robbie Kerr, put in the best performance of the race, after started last and quickly climbing the field to finish a close second. Team Canada rounded off the podium with Sean McIntosh battling from seventh to finish third.

Team New Zealand had another consistant race, by finishing in forth position ahead of Neel Jani of Team Switzerland, who after a fantastic start, but dropped down and finished fifth. Former Formula One drivers, Ralph Firman of Team Ireland and Jos Verstappen of Team Netherlands both finished in the points in sixth and seventh respectivly. Teams Indonesia, Japan and Germany, who passed Team Portugal on a fantastic last lap effort, rounded off the points.

Feature Race Results
A1 Team Driver Time
1 France Nicolas Lapierre 58:45.700
2 Great Britain Robbie Kerr 58:49.406
3 Canada Sean McIntosh 58:51.158
4 New Zealand Jonny Reid 58:51.674
5 Switzerland Neel Jani 58:52.771
6 Ireland Ralph Firman 58:53.781
7 Netherlands Jos Verstappen 58:55.322
8 Indonesia Ananda Mikola 59:02.406
9 Japan Hideki Noda 59:05.044
10 Germany Timo Scheider 59:07.560
11 Portugal Alvaro Parente 59:10.440
12 Pakistan Adam Khan 59:10.966
13 Mexico David Martinez 59:14.878
14 Australia Christian Jones 59:16.590
15 Austria Mathias Lauda 59:16.832
16 Malaysia Alex Yoong 59:31.081
17 China Jiang 1:00:03.141
18 Lebanon Khalil Beschhir 33 laps
19 Czech Republic Tomas Enge 27 laps
20 Brazil Nelson Piquet Jr 26 laps
21 India Karun Chandhok 19 laps
22 South Africa Tomas Scheckter 15 laps
23 Italy Enrico Toccacelo 11 laps
24 USA Scott Speed 4 laps

France now go to equal second on the Championship table, alongside New Zealand on 29 points. While first round leaders, Brazil, stay on top with 30 points.

Championship Table
1 Brazil 30
2 France 29
3 New Zealand 29
4 Switzerland 17
5 Australia 16
6 Mexico 16
7 Great Britain 15
8 Canada 14
9 Malaysia 11
10 Germany 8
11 Ireland 8
12 Netherlands 8
13 Japan 6
14 South Africa 5
15 Pakistan 4
16 Indonesia 3
17 Portugal 3

Dane Norton

You may also like