Red front row in Monaco

Sat, 24 May 2008, 06:41

The front row will be all red for tomorrows Monaco Grand-Prix. Felippe Massa scored Pole-Position just 0.028 seconds ahead of teammate Kimi Raikkonen. The second row is for McLaren tomorrow, Lewis Hamilton will started as third in front of Heikki Kovalainen.

The first session saw Bourdais, Piqet, Vettel, Suitl and Fisichella drop out and take positions 16-20 on the grid for tomorrow’s race.

The second session was fraught with activity on track and climaxed in the final moments with David Coulthard pitching into the wall on the tunnel exit, sliding down the slip road and thumping to a halt in the barrier. The Red Bull Racing driver had was tenth, made it into the pole shoot-out, but would play no more part in the session. Behind Coulthard, Glock, Button, Heidfeld, Nakajuma and Barrichello dropped out.

In Q3 the battle looked to be between Lewis Hamilton and Kimi Raikkonen and the Finn held the advantage as the session ticked down to its close, only for Felipe Massa to pull a stunning last gasp lap out to steal pole from his team mate by 0.028s.

Ferrari locks out the front row with Massa and Raikkonen ahead of the two McLarens of Hamilton and Kovalainen. Kubica continued his solid season and upstaged team mate Heidfeld with fifth for BMW while Nico Rosberg secured a strong sixth place for Williams.

Fernando Alonso muscled his Renault to seventh ahead of Trulli and Webber. Coulthard rounds off the top ten.

GP Monaco, qualification
1 F. Massa Ferrari 1:15.787
2 K. Räikkönen Ferrari 1:15.815
3 L. Hamilton McLaren 1:15.839
4 H. Kovalainen McLaren 1:16.165
5 R. Kubica BMW 1:16.171
6 N. Rosberg Williams 1:16.548
7 F. Alonso Renault 1:16.852
8 J. Trulli Toyota 1:17.203
9 M. Webber Red Bull 1:17.343
10 D. Coulthard Red Bull geen tijd
11 T. Glock Toyota 1:15.907
12 J. Button Honda 1:16.101
13 N. Heidfeld BMW 1:16.455
14 K. Nakajima Williams 1:16.479
15 R. Barrichello Honda 1:16.537
16 S. Bourdais Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:16.806
17 N. Piquet jr. Renault 1:16.933
18 S. Vettel Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:16.955
19 A. Sutil Force India F1 1:17.225
20 G. Fisichella Force India F1 1:17.823

You may also like